NiMet DG Re-elected To WMO Executive Council

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
The director-general, Nigerian Meteorological Agency, Prof. Mansur Matazu.
The director-general, Nigerian Meteorological Agency, Prof. Mansur Matazu.

The director-general of the Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NiMet) and Nigeria’s permanent representative to the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO), Prof. Mansur Matazu has been re-elected to the executive council of the WMO.

Matazu, who has been a council member since assuming office, was recognised for his unwavering dedication to advancing meteorology and his contributions to humanity. As a result, he was unanimously elected to represent regional association I (Africa) of the WMO, along with Kenya, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Eswatini, South Africa, Egypt, Burkina Faso and Cote d’Ivoire.

Matazu’s re-election, which spans four years, took place during the 19th session of the WMO Congress. This congress serves as the highest decision-making body of the WMO, comprising 193 members states and territories. During the congress, members thoroughly reviewed technical documents and make decisions to ensure the safety of the land, atmosphere and water, including the United Nations’ Early Warning for All Initiative, led by the WMO.

Furthermore, in line with the organisation’s tradition, a new secretary-general is being elected at the ongoing congress. After several rounds of balloting, Argentina emerged as the new president, succeeding Germany, whose tenure ends with the conclusion of the congress. Additionally, the United Arab Emirates, Ivory Coast, Ireland and India were elected as the first, second and third vice-presidents, respectively.

The executive council of the WMO also includes representatives from the remaining five regional associations: China, Saudi Arabia, Japan, Republic of Korea, United Arab Emirates, India, Peru, Guyana, Brazil, Argentina, Canada, the United States of America, British Caribbean, Curacao and St. Maarten, Jamaica, Australia, Singapore, Indonesia, Tonga, United Kingdom, Germany, Switzerland, Romania, Czech Republic, Norway, Italy, Turkey and France.

The upcoming financial year of the WMO will commence in January 2024, coinciding with the expiration of the current secretary general’s term.

Oluchi Okorafor
+ posts
- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

get in touch


Latest News

Related Articles