Aviation Minister Inaugurates National Safety Committee

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
The Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Mr. Festus Keyamo SAN, (ninth from left) flanked by the stakeholders of National Executive Safety Committee in Abuja.

The Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Mr. Festus Keyamo, SAN, has inaugurated the National Executive Safety Committee (NESC) of Nigeria’s State Safety Programme.

The inauguration, which took place in office on April 23, 2024, is part of efforts to comply with the safety requirements of the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) annexe 19.

The head of information and public affairs, Odutayo Oluseyi revealed that Keyamo urged the NESC to fulfil their roles professionally and appropriately to assess the safety risk landscape of the aviation industry within Nigeria.

Keyamo outlined the responsibilities of the NESC, including the development and periodic review of safety policies, safety indicators, enforcement policies, safety data protection, SMS regulatory requirements, and internal coordination of SSP reviews and findings. He also emphasised the importance of allocating resources for safety performance improvements based on risk assessment and providing strategic direction to the Safety Improvement Advisory Committee (SIAC).

The committee’s terms of reference include endorsing priorities, overseeing SSP activities, monitoring safety performance, assessing industry risks, identifying emerging safety risks and ensuring safety oversight of regulated organisations and personnel. Keyamo stressed the need for effective safety management processes and quarterly progress reports.

In his address, the director-general of the Civil Aviation Authority, Capt. Chris Najomo highlighted the benefits of implementing an effective SSP, emphasising the importance of understanding Nigeria’s role in safe operations and managing resources for optimal aviation safety.

The director-general of NSIB, Capt. Alex Badeh expressed gratitude to the minister for the opportunity to serve on the Committee and pledged their commitment to the task.

The committee members include officials from various aviation agencies and organisations, with the SSP Coordinator serving as the secretary to the NSEC.

Oluchi Okorafor
+ posts
- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

get in touch


Latest News

Related Articles