Transportation Ministry Recognises, Awards 20 Outstanding Staff

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Transport Award
The Minister of State for Transportation, Prince Ademola Adegoroya (seventh from left), Minister of Transportation, Engr Mu’azu Sambo, and the ministry’s permanent secretary, Dr. Magdalene Ajani flanked by the awardees during the ceremony in Abuja.

The Minister of Transportation, Engr. Mu’azu Sambo has awarded 20 staff of the ministry for excellent performance, dedication and commitment to their duties.                                        

Sambo disclosed this in Abuja during the Ministerial Service Award/ Townhall Meeting in commemoration of the 2022 Civil Service Day observed every June 23, 2022, in line with the Tangier Declaration of 1994. 

Amongst the awardees were the deputy director of press, Mrs. Anastasia Ogbonna and Mr. Desmond Agyo.

The minister stated that the award is predicated on the demonstration of unusual patriotic commitment to civil service, length of service and demonstrated integrity in service delivery.                            

“Today’s event is set aside to celebrate and recognise these officers who have distinguished themselves in the course of performing their duties excellently, through their commitment, dedication, diligence and leadership skills.  

“The gesture will equally encourage and motivate other staff to work harder and improve their performance to win the awards in the future,” Sambo stressed.

The minister further stated that no nation prospers without a capable workforce and added that a well-motivated workforce was capable of propelling any nation to greater heights. 

Sambo urged civil servants to embrace and support the Federal Civil Service Strategy and Implementation Plan (FCSSIP 2021 – 2025) for improved productivity and service delivery.

“I want to use this medium to encourage staff to be solution providers and to develop an attitudinal change in fulfilment of the objectives of FCSSIP 2021-2025,” he said.

The minister introduced the Performance Management System (PMS) to measure the performance of the staff of the ministry.

“It is important to note that the newly introduced performance management system will soon become fully operational and provide the parameter for future selection of awards,” he explained. 

Earlier, the permanent secretary, Federal Ministry of Transportation, Dr. Magdalene Ajani, in her remarks, said the overall aim of the award was to reward hard work and encourage civil servants to do more to improve service delivery. 

In the course of interaction during the town hall meeting, the minister said the welfare of staff remained his priority and would do all within the means available to ensure a conducive working environment. 

The highlight of the occasion was the presentation of 43’ television sets to 3 staff in category ‘A’ and refrigerators to 17 in category ‘B’.

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

get in touch


Latest News

Related Articles