Transportation Minister Inaugurates Shippers’ Council Governing Board 

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Shippers Council Committee
The permanent secretary, Ministry of Transportation, Dr. Magdalene Ajani (fourth from right), the Minister and Minister of State for Transportation, Engr. Mu’azu Jaji Sambo and Prince Ademola Adegoroya respectively, flanked by members of the newly inaugurated board during their inauguration in Abuja.

The Minister of Transportation, Engr. Mu’azu Sambo, has inaugurated a new Nigerian Shippers Council Governing Board to enhance the growth of the sector for national development. 

Speaking during its inauguration yesterday in Abuja, Sambo tasked the new board to live up to the expectations of the government and promote prudence, transparency, accountability, equity and fairness in its responsibilities. 

The minister charged members of the board to foster an economy that is robust, transparent, accountable and in line with international best practices. 

He stated that the council is vested with “the responsibility of providing a forum for the protection of the interest of shippers on matters affecting the shipment of imports and exports to and from Nigeria as well as liaising with the appropriate arms of the government of the federation and other organisations in assessing the stability and adequacy of existing services and make appropriate recommendations”. 

The minister, further urged the board members to work in line with the policy direction of the Federal Government while reminding them of their roles of engendering harmonious working relationships with the management of the council.                               

Sambo expressed confidence that the board would live up to the expectations of the government and called on members to deploy their expertise to promote prudence, transparency, accountability, equity and fairness in the discharge of their responsibilities while admonishing them to be change agents by adhering to zero tolerance to corruption. 

Speaking earlier, the permanent secretary, Federal Ministry of Transportation, Dr. Magdalene Ajani said: “You have your role to support the Nigerian Shippers’ Council but you are not part of the council’s day-to-day running. Later, we will hold a retreat where your roles will be spelt out. We are planning to do it with all our boards so that we avoid conflicts. It has become important for me to stress this at every board inauguration for agencies of the Ministry of Transportation, to avoid stress.” 

In his remarks, the chairman of the newly constituted board, Lawal Abdullahi thanked the Federal Government for allowing them to serve and assured that the board will deliver on its mandate and support the management of the Nigerian Shippers’ Council to succeed. 

A statement by the ministry’s director of press and public relations, Eric Ojiekwe said other members of the board include Rufai Ahmed Akambi, Usen Ekong Udoh, Otunba Oluseyi Odutan, Violet Olaitan Williams, Allamin Kam-Salem and Emmanuel Lyambee Jime (secretary).

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

get in touch


Latest News

Related Articles