FG inaugurates Ministerial C’ttee On Illegal, Chartered, Aviation Ops

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
The Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Mr. Festus Keyamo SAN.
The Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Mr. Festus Keyamo SAN.

The Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Mr. Festus Keyamo, SAN, has formed a ministerial task force committee to address the issue of illegal private chartered operations and related matters. The committee aims to tackle illicit activities that pose security and safety concerns, as well as cause financial losses to the Federal Government.

Keyamo highlighted his 5-point agenda, which focuses on safety, infrastructure, support for local operators, human capacity deployment and revenue generation. He emphasised that these points serve as a guide in fulfilling President Bola Tinubu’s mandate. Keyamo expressed concern about unchecked and unregulated private aircraft operations in Nigeria, leading to security challenges such as money laundering, drug trafficking, and other illegal activities.

Following consultations with regulatory agencies and industry stakeholders, Keyamo established the Ministerial Task Force to take decisive action. The committee’s responsibilities include:

1. Conducting an inventory of private non-commercial flight (PNCF) holders and Air Operator Certificate (AOC) holders.

2. Investigating the persistence of illegal charters by PNCF holders despite regulatory controls.

3. Verifying the authenticity and validity of professional licenses for pilots and crew members in Nigeria.

4. Recommending additional measures for regulatory agencies to address the issue.

5. Proposing appropriate sanctions for violators.

6. Suggesting measures to enhance monitoring of private aircraft operations and activities in Nigeria.

Chairman of the task force committee, Capt. Ado Sanusi expressed appreciation for the opportunity to address the challenges and pledged thorough efforts to address the root of the problems.

The members of the inaugurated task force committee are as follows: Capt. Ado Sanusi as chairman, Capt. Roland Iyayi as vice-chairman, acting director of air transport (FMA&AD) as secretary, Theresa A. Babayo (DAYR-NCAA) as a member, a nominee from the Office of the National Security Adviser as member, Capt. Daniel Quansah as a member, Capt. Patrick Ogunlowo as a member, Obafemi Bajomo (SA-HMA) as a member.

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

get in touch


Latest News

Related Articles